Whether you were involved in a motor vehicle accident or a slip-and-fall, if you were injured and lost consciousness as a result, you can suffer serious losses. After losing consciousness as a result of an accident, it is important you understand your legal rights and if you can file a personal injury claim in California.
Younglove Law Group is a California personal injury law firm with experience helping clients who have suffered a loss of consciousness due to an accident. After losing consciousness, you are able to file a personal injury claim. However, there are certain circumstances you should be aware of in order to ensure you get fair compensation for your case.
Should You File a Claim After a Loss of Consciousness?
If you lost consciousness during an accident, you should consider filing a personal injury claim. While it is your legal right to file the claim, there is no way to guarantee that you will receive a set amount of compensation for your losses. In order to strengthen your claim, a doctor will need to diagnose your injury and demonstrate a loss as a result of the loss of consciousness and any resulting injuries.
To get help filing a claim and proving that the loss of consciousness you experienced was caused by the accident resulting in a loss, get the help of a California personal injury lawyer.
Can a Loss of Consciousness Be a Symptom of a Brain Injury?
Loss of consciousness is often a sign that the brain has sustained damage in some way. The loss of consciousness can prompt your brain to temporarily shut down to protect itself from injury. For this reason, it is crucial to get checked out by a doctor after any accident, even those that seem minor. Seeking medical help is not only crucial for your own well being, but if you decide to file a claim for the loss of consciousness after an accident, medical diagnosis and reports will be crucial evidence to help strengthen your claim.
Is the Loss of Consciousness Considered a Traumatic Brain Injury?
Medical professionals consider the loss of consciousness for less than fifteen minutes a mild form of a traumatic brain injury or TBI. When consciousness is lost for fifteen minutes to six hours, it is considered a moderate form of a traumatic brain injury. Loss of consciousness for six to 48 hours can result in a severe brain injury. Being in a coma for more than 48 hours of unconsciousness can lead to the most severe type of brain damage. If you have lost consciousness after an accident, even if you wake up a short while later and feel fine, it is imperative that you seek medical help to ensure that you have not suffered any further damage to your brain.
Damages You Can Collect After Filing a Claim for Losing Consciousness
If you have lost consciousness, you have likely experienced losses as a result. The damages you can possibly collect after filing a claim for your losses include the following:
- Medical expenses
- Lost present and future wages
- Pain and suffering
- Wrongful death
If you are unsure what damages you are eligible for following a loss of consciousness claim, a personal injury lawyer can help by going over the specific details of your claim.
Contact a California Personal Injury Lawyer Today
Younglove Law Group offers clients the experience necessary to help victims of accidents who have suffered a loss of consciousness in California. Our trusted legal team provides our clients with the dedicated representation they need to build a strong claim as they pursue the best possible outcome for any losses they have suffered as a result of the accident that left them unconscious. Schedule a free case review with one of our California personal injury lawyers today by contacting us here or calling (949) 691-3660.