It has been reported that there are an average of about 680,000 hit-and-run accidents that occur in the United States each year. While being involved in any type of car accident is stressful, when the at-fault driver flees the scene of the accident, the situation becomes increasingly more difficult. If you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident, you deserve justice for the losses you have suffered as a result of the other party’s negligence.
The award-winning hit-and-run accident lawyers at Younglove Law Group are dedicated to helping clients in California get the compensation they deserve after suffering injuries related to the incident. After being the victim of a hit-and-run, you may be wondering if you need a lawyer to help with your claim.
What Is California’s Law on Conduct After a Car Accident?
Under California law, drivers are required to stop at the scene after an accident occurs. This applies even in cases where the driver was involved in a minor accident. After stopping at the scene, drivers are supposed to exchange contact and insurance information and report the incident to law enforcement. Unfortunately, despite this law, there are many drivers who still flee the scene of the accident. Drivers may flee the scene for many different reasons:
- They are uninsured or underinsured
- There is an active warrant out for their arrest
- They are under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- They are avoiding a rise in their insurance rate
Regardless of why a driver may flee after an accident, their choice to leave can make it very difficult for you to collect the compensation you are entitled to. With the help of a hit-and-run accident lawyer, you may be able to pursue the best possible scenario for your hit-and-run claim.
Why Is It Important to Contact a Lawyer After a Hit-and-Run Accident?
Being injured in a hit-and-run accident may leave the victim feeling helpless. After an accident, victims often incur costly expenses as they heal from their injuries. However, when a driver flees the scene, it can be more challenging to get the fair compensation you deserve. That is why it is crucial that you get the help of a knowledgeable California hit-and-run lawyer.
When you work with a lawyer, they will have the experience to ensure you take the proper steps to get the best possible outcome for your claim. Aside from providing you with prompt communications and trusted legal counsel, a hit-and-run lawyer can help you with every step of the claims process. Your hit-and-run lawyer may be able to help you file a strong claim with your own insurance provider through your uninsured motorist coverage.
What Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Oftentimes it is not possible to identify the driver who hit you after a hit-and-run. If this is the case, your hit-and-run lawyer may be able to help you file a claim with your uninsured driver policy. Uninsured motorist coverage pays for bodily injuries caused by a hit-and-run collision when certain conditions are met. These conditions include:
- There was physical contact between your vehicle and the vehicle that fled from the scene
- You reported the accident to the police within 24 hours from the time the accident occurred
- You filed a claim with your insurance provider within 30 days from the date of the accident
Your hit-and-run lawyer may be able to help you with your claim by adhering to important deadlines and assisting you with providing any necessary evidence or paperwork needed for your claim.
Get Help From a California Hit-and-Run Lawyer
If you have been involved in a hit-and-run accident, you deserve to be compensated for the losses you have suffered as a result. To get help pursuing compensation for your losses, contact an experienced California hit-and-run accident lawyer as soon as possible.
The award-winning team at Younglove Law Group is dedicated to providing clients with the trusted legal services they deserve. Our hit-and-run accident attorneys are passionate about helping clients get the maximum amount in damages they are owed. To schedule a free consultation, contact us here or call (949) 691-3660.