Car accidents occur more often than we might believe. While some might only leave minor scratches on your vehicle, others can cause significant property damage and severe injuries that turn your life upside down. Regardless of how your accident occurs, you will most likely need to contact your local law enforcement as soon as possible. Not only will they be able to relieve any aggressiveness with the other driver, but they will create a police report detailing their observations of the accident.
When a police officer creates and assesses the accident, they will conduct a preliminary investigation that can significantly help you during your car accident claim. If the other driver’s negligent actions result in damage to you or your vehicle, you have the right to receive compensation for the losses you incur in the accident. A car accident lawyer can help gather evidence and discuss with the police about the crash. If you did not contact the police or the officer created no police report, contact a lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your next steps.
Do I Have to Report My Car Accident in California?
The California Vehicle Code section 20008 requires that any driver involved in the accident, or their representative, must make a written report of the crash with the California Highway Patrol or to the area’s local police department within 24 hours of the crash if any of the following occur:
- Anyone involved in the crash was injured
- Anyone involved in the crash was killed in the accident
- Damage to any vehicle or property exceeds $1,000
You will also need to submit a report to the California DMV’s office within ten days of the accident if any of the above occur. However, some car accidents result in severe injuries, and you may find it challenging to report the accident on your own. An experienced car accident attorney in California can help file the report in your stead and make sure there are no legal issues within the document.
What Happens If There Is No Police Report for My California Car Accident?
There are various reasons why a person might not file a police report at the time of the accident. However, there can be legal complications if you seek compensation without a police report. You might have trouble finding evidence and information on your own. Still, with the help of dependable accident lawyers at Younglove Law Group, we can provide you with honest legal advice that you can trust.
The following are a few examples of how our team can help your car accident claim:
- Answering questions about your claim
- Discussing your case with law enforcement
- Filing reports and documents in your stead
- Gathering evidence regarding your case
- Interviewing eyewitnesses of your car accident
- Guiding you through the medical documentation process
The process of filing a car accident claim can be overwhelming and frustrating. With the help of lawyers who have years of experience working with clients to recover their losses, you can feel confident that you will have the best possible outcome for your claim. They will address the lack of a police report and guide you through preparations for your case.
Contact Younglove Law Group for an Experienced Car Accident Lawyer in California
When you work with car accident lawyers at Younglove Law Group, you will have the tools and resources for a successful claim process. We have years of experience advocating for our clients across California. Every case and client is unique and requires innovative strategies for success, which is why we provide legal services tailored to your specific needs. Our primary goal is to provide the legal representation you can rely on and trust.
Schedule a free consultation and discuss the details of your case with our lawyers by calling (949) 691-3660 or filling out our contact form today.